Soliciting book recommendations for a wacky idea.

There’s this thing I’ve been kind of half-arsing through in my spare time (in between teaching myself the ukulele, playing Pokemon on my Nintendo DS, and creating geeky cross-stitch patterns). It’s called the Personal MBA and at its essential base it’s a list of books that, if you went through a MBA program, you would more than likely have read.

So, here’s the question: What kind of books would be on a Personal M.Div. reading list?

For those of you who have gone to seminary, what books were you assigned there were, in your opinion, the best, and had the most impact on your lives and ministries?

For those of you who haven’t gone to seminary, what books have you read that were, in your opinion, the best, and had the most impact on your lives and ministries?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Soliciting book recommendations for a wacky idea.

  1. Haven’t gone to seminary.

    For serious thoughts on life & death & love, I recommend to anyone who will listen (and I wouldn’t be surprised if I’ve said so to you before) _Here If You Need Me_ by Kate Braestrup, the chaplain to the Maine game wardens, who are also the people who look for kids lost in the woods, etc.

    Here’s something she wrote just so you can see how she writes:
    http://www.boston.com/news/globe/magazine/articles/2007/09/23/blessing_the_moose/

  2. In God’s Presence by Marjorie Hewitt Suchocki. Simply the best book on prayer I’ve even read, from a contemporary genius.