Hatian Disaster Response

I’m just one woman, a good portion of the globe away. I can only send my money to Episcopal Relief and Development and my prayers to the people of Haiti.

And I can check and make sure my can opener is with my earthquake kit.

I grew up in California, so what I have ingrained in my soul as an earthquake kit is now more fashionably known as the 72 hour kit. Food, spare clothes, medications, first-aid kit, sturdy shoes, and most importantly water, all in a pack I can throw over my shoulder if I’m evacuated.

But things tend to migrate out of the earthquake kit, and it’s when news like this hits that I start rounding up the stray items and putting them back in their proper place.

Comments Off on Hatian Disaster Response

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.