If it didn’t hurt so much, it’d be really funny.

I’ve somehow sprained the piriformis muscle in my left leg. This is a teeny tiny muscle, attached to the back of the hip joint. The problem is that the sciatic nerve runs right through it, and when it’s inflamed, it will pinch the sciatic nerve with every single step.

Or, in smaller words, I have a pain in my butt.

I’ve been put on a hardcore anti-inflammatory med, and been told to take it easy for the next few days and to expect a slow improvement over the next month.

I keep going through this thought process of, “Hm, it’s not hurting right now, I wonder if I twist it– STUPID! STOP TRYING TO MAKE IT HURT! ARE YOU INSANE?!”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “If it didn’t hurt so much, it’d be really funny.

  1. Sciatic nerve pain is no fun at all. I hope this clears up soon.

  2. Last time my piriformis got tweeked, I did the requisite resting — then worked like hell to strengthen all the supporting core muscles. You know, squats, lunges, leg presses, hamstring bridges, etc. It was miserable and it worked.

    Doesn’t work for plantar fascitis though.

    Good luck.