Mary Sue’s Official Statement on General Convention

Who am I to make a statement on General Convention? I’m a member of the Episcopal Church, a child of God and a follower of the Christ.

Does a sister need more credentials than that? I don’t think so.

It’s getting close to General Convention, and you can smell the fear in the air. It’s thick, it’s palpable, it’s stultifying. Everyone’s rallying around, and what I’m hearing is to consolidate, to compromise, to fall back, to hold tight and expect nothing. All I hear from GC and others focused on GC is that faith is scarce and we must hide it away or else it will disappear.

That is the biggest load of bullshit I have ever heard in my life, and I’ve got a degree in educational psychology.

The question that we need to ask ourselves is how, in the name of Jesus Christ, we can step up and step out in a path of abundance. Not the kind the slick preachers tell us about on the television, but the kind where two scraps of bread means enough to share with someone else, two pairs of shoes means enough to share with someone else, two coats means enough to share with someone else. We need not hoard our goods, just as we need not hoard our faith. There is plenty enough of both to go around. We are children of God, and we are abundantly blessed so we may bless this world abundantly.

And, my fellow children of God, how, in the name of Jesus Christ, are we going to step up and step out when– yes, I said when, not if– General Convention continues to follow a path of scarcity.

Comments Off on Mary Sue’s Official Statement on General Convention

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.