Some Christians Going Into Foreclosure Due To Tithing

No, it’s not an Onion article.

I came across it thanks to J.D., who’s one of the personal finance bloggers I read, ’cause my other blog’s about PF. And geeky stuff. And food.

Interseting statistic from the article:

The Barna Group, a California-based research firm, estimated in an April 2008 study that 5% of all American adults tithed in 2007. Evangelicals had the highest percentage (24%), and the study estimated that 12% of conservatives and 10% of registered Republicans tithed.

I’m not sure if that 5% is filling out a pledge card or the ‘Biblical’ 10%*.

Another interesting quote:

“As born-again Christians they believe they have been saved and that tithing is a way to express their gratitude to God,” Barna said in an interview. “Evangelicals are interested in the economy, but they don’t believe governments have been ordained by God to provide all the solutions.”

Why is this one interesting? Because apparently, since I don’t believe governments can and/or will provide all the solutions, I’m an Evangelical. Hah! Betcha didn’t know THAT!

I’ve told y’all before that I am pro-charitable giving. But I’m also pro-don’t be an idiot. When I was attempting to get rid of my credit card debt, I paid a small pledge to my parish. And as soon as my credit card debt was g-o-n-e, I paid my pledge, and then some more. Paying your debts is, in my mind, a part of being a good Christian.

We’re ramping up into Stewardship Season. It’s a tough economy, and it’s going to be an even tougher sell than usual. When the economy gets bad, the churches have to step up even more to help the marginalized and the poor, and that isn’t cheap. Those of us who, praise God, have jobs and have savings and have a roof over our heads and food on our table, need to step up and in Christian love, give.

Let me testify: No matter how much money I give to the church, there seems to always be just enough for me to live on. I’m not buying fancy new cars and taking months-long trips to Hawai’i, but I have what I need and even, sometimes, I have what I want. Because God is good.

All the time.

*The 10% Gross tithe is actually from the OT, remember, Jesus in the NT was more in favor of the ‘once you have food and a place to sleep and maybe a coat, everything else goes to the poor, yes, I mean EVERYTHING’ school.

Comments Off on Some Christians Going Into Foreclosure Due To Tithing

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.