Infidelity

I sit in the back, I slouch in the pews, I pray no one will recognize me. If no one knows who I am, I won’t have to explain why I’m here and not at St. Thatguy.

I feel like I’m cheating on my parish.

I dread getting up, I hit the snooze button until it’s too late. I tell myself next week, I’ll show up at St. Thatguy, suck it up and take my lumps, the scoldings from the little old ladies (both in the pews and in the pulpit) and settle back into the routine.

Then I check the clock and figure out I’ve got three hours until the late service at the other church, and I just can’t wait to go.


In other news, I’ve been asked by my housemate who is also my landlord to find a new place to live. It’s been 18 months, that’s pretty much a record for me. I’ve been given 90 days, but other factors are leading me to complete this move sooner rather than later. Prayers for me would be rather appreciated.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Infidelity

  1. Asalamlayakom,

    That housemate/somebody-who-has-control-over- you is a tough partner to work with. You’ll feel better when you’re out, God willing.

    Hey, you could move closer to church! That would help with at least one of your posted dilemmas.

    May God help you find a soft place to land and a quiet place to pray.

  2. Kirstine

    Oh – as Yosra said, that’s bad. It’s a difficult thing to live with someone who has more ‘ownership’ than you, yet it is somehow more secure-feeling than renting from a faceless landlord.
    I have also been going through the ‘visiting another church’ thing this summer. It is hard to discern the difference between ‘toxic’ and ‘challenging’, sometimes!
    You are in my prayers, anyhow.