Quick thought, quick prayer, quick HALLELUJAH!

I haven’t been to church since Eastertide. Before that, attendance was down to once a month at best. I’ve been trying to formulate my feelings into coherent words with explanations, I’ve narrowed it down to two reasons, one personal, one generational. But they’re both related. And I’m just going to throw them out here to see what all four of you who read this blog think:

1) Personally, I just got out of the habit of regular church attendance, partially due to the working two jobs thing, and partially due to the fact I didn’t don’t want to be saddled with any more frackin’ committees where I’m ‘valued’ as a ‘younger’ member but my ideas are dismissed out of hand because I’m a ‘younger’ member.

2) Generationally, people my age are looking for a lifestyle change. Complete paradigm shift, as they used to say a lot in board rooms. Sunday mornings are nice, sure enough, but the MOTR need to keep from offending everyone and straddle that fence, we rarely if ever hear from the pulpit something like, “Pray more! Here’s some resources/how ya do it” or “Serve your fellow person more! Here’s an opportunity, it’s not during business hours or at holycraphitthesnoozebar o’clock!”

Additionally, pardon my French, but WHERE THE FUCK IS THE CHRISTIAN EDUCATION?!?! Once a month, MAYBE, St. Thatguy will have a lecture by one of our parishoners who used to teach seminary. Kids my age didn’t grow up in church, we have questions about… EVERYTHING. Books are nice, I like books, but you cannot be a Christian alone in your room with a book. You need other people.

Let me say that again, Christans need other people.

So your young adult program kickoff only drew two or three. Does that mean it’s time to kill the program? Didn’t some crazy Jewish guy about 2,000 years ago say something about two or three gathered together?

*deep breath, change gears*
And now, quick prayer request for Coworker R, who was in a car accident last night and injured a shoulder that was already kind of damaged. We’re not sure when R will be back at work. R’s the main Surgery buyer, which means I’m R’s backup, which means I’m in for excitement I tell you what.

Speaking of excitement, in about 30 minutes they’re making the formal announcement: Big Ol’ Hospital is hiring me permanently as a Buyer. At a step above where I am now. With full, ever-lovin’ benefits. Thank you, Jesus.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Quick thought, quick prayer, quick HALLELUJAH!

  1. First, congrats on the job, the benefits, etc.! That is great news.

    Second, I was so interested in this post because I, too, have not been to church since Easter. My Lenten discipline this year was to go to church every Sunday (and I’ll confess that I did miss one Sunday in there), and I found it a sad comment that something which had been a regular part of my life for years was now a discipline to be added. And honestly, the whole going-every-week thing was eh, and it was easy to drop it again once I’d fulfilled that self-imposed obligation. I really didn’t get anything out of it. And yet, I keep coming back to the same point you made, which is that Christians are called to be in community; no getting around that. So I’m still not entirely sure what to do next. There’s a parish near our new home that I’m going to check out — maybe this Sunday? but then again I’ve said that in previous weeks and still haven’t gone.

  2. Sorcha

    Congratulations on the job! Benefits are awesome.

    My problem with finding a community is that since my husband and son already have a church they go to, I feel like that’s where I should go as well. However, a: it’s Presbyterian, which just isn’t my thing, and b: I’ve had issues with a couple of members there, expressing concern to a third party (not to me or to my husband) about my joining my husband in his work with the youth because I was pagan once upon a time – not that I *told* anyone about it, they were just guessing. And not that they even had kids in the youth group. Regardless, it left a sour enough taste in my mouth that when I attend anything there I feel like an outsider and I’m always kind of on edge, no matter how nice people are to me.

    Sorry about ranting.

  3. Brilliant – I’m copying your post and there will be some changes in how I preach, I tell you what. Thank you, and I’ve already shifted the emphasis in education to those pesky questions you mention – Episcopalian content, yes, but not strictly speaking. So, you can answer me a question: I’ve been told that because I have gray hair (and no, I’m not dying it. Sorry.), the church I serve as priest will only be able to attract people who are 20 years either side of my perceived age, which is 63. Is that true? Or is that one of those myths perpetrated to discourage we women of a certain age from ordination? (This is a serious question.)

  4. Good news on the job! Congrats. What a relief.

    I don’t think the age of the priest matters. The attitude of the priest matters. And there is in fact sexism-ageism combined in some (not all) dioceses in the ordination process.

    I’ll keep my comments to that for now. :-/

    Good post… A keeper for sure.

  5. episcopalifem

    This is a problem for sure.

    I have no immediate answers.

    We wonder how to reach out to 20 somethings, to retain them, and it’s hard in the face of all the things that compete for their attention – much of which is plain sexier than church.

    Having 20 somethings involved in the planning process though, is vital.