Hello from Sunny PDX Airport!

It’s an hour and a half until my flight, and I’m self medicating with a margarita (I. Do. Not. Like. Flying.) So, a brief update:

Where you going?
California. Turn off the dirt road, drive to where there’s no cell service and a big fire pit.

Where the heck were you?
I came to the conclusion church people suck. Yes, I know, I’m slow. All The Current Unpleasantness has driven me around the bend. So I’ve decided on a practice of not reading any of it.

So if you have important news you want I should read, make sure you don’t include it in a post about The Current Unpleasantness.

How’s that job-hunt thing?
Well, I interviewed today for my job again. You may recall in December I also interviewed for my job just before I flew to California, and they didn’t give it to me then. So I have to answer everyone who asks how it went with “I don’t know.”

I feel a lot more confident with this interview than with the last one. Of course, I got a lot of good feedback from the last one since my best friend in the office at the time was on the panel. This panel consisted of the manager who didn’t give me the job last time but who is no longer my direct supervisor, the just-hired senior manager, and a guy who I’ve never directly worked with but I have had some dealings with in the past. They’re interviewing three other people.

If I don’t get it this time, I have no idea what I’m going to do. I’m tending towards the grand gesture of walking out and having someone else clear my desk for me. Which is counter my nature and it’s bad to burn bridges, but… for fuck’s sake, I’ve been working there two and a half years as a temp.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hello from Sunny PDX Airport!

  1. I hate flying, too.

    Just repeat: “The plane is your friend, the plane is your friend.”

    I know, it didn’t work for me, either.

    Blessings in your job interview. It does suck, I agree.

  2. Sorcha

    We’re hiring at Portland Impact for a bunch of stuff. Don’t know if anything we have open would fit your interests and skill set but you might wanna take a look – great place to work. http://www.portlandimpact.org/working.htm . If you like what you see and you’re interested in applying, feel free to put me down as a reference if you like. I’ll even tell you my real name. 😉