Movie Review: Stardust

With my newfound free time, I’ve been watching teevee and catching up on movies. And as I’m writing this, I’m recalling that I borrowed Stardust from a coworker and have yet to return it. Um. Whoops.

Stardust is based on the novel by Neil Gaiman. Anyone who’s seen Neverwhere or Mirrormask, be not afraid… this is straight-up, major movie studio, logical and fairly linear fantasy fare. Gaiman’s favorite trope to explore is the world-next-door, in this case on the other side of a wall that seperates a sleepy English village from a magical world of mystery and enchantment. Our Intrepid Hero is in love with a fickle girl, and said girl informs him that if he brings her the shooting star they see fall on the other side of the wall, she’ll marry him. But he’s only got one week.

Turns out said star is Claire Daines. And if you eat her heart, you’ll extend your life by a hundred years or so, so there’s some witches after her, and the fairy kingdom is going through a rather bloody seccession fight, and the princes have to get ahold of the giant necklace that just happened to knock the star right out of the sky. So, you know, Stuff Happens and hijinks ensue.

Now, some of y’all have gotten to this point and said to yourselves, “Self, even given Mary Sue’s horrible way of explaining movies, this just doesn’t sound like my cuppa tea.”

Well, let me tell you why you need to see this film: Robert DeNiro. I’m not going to tell you much about his character, but you need. To. See. This. Film. Just. For. Bobby.

And, you know, heartwarming, bla bla bla, good message about finding your true path in life, bla bla bla… BOBBY!

1 Comment

Filed under movies

One response to “Movie Review: Stardust

  1. I loved Stardust, and I particularly liked his part! It’s the first time my kids have seen him in a movie, though, and it makes a very strange introduction.