Intuitive Eating

It’s not something that comes up a lot on this blog, but I’m fat.

And I don’t diet. And I don’t weigh myself. And I don’t subscribe to the notion that because I’m fat I cannot do *anything* except diet and weigh myself and whinge about how I’m not skinny. I’ve got more important things to do. 

A while ago now, I gave up on the idea that there are ‘good’ and ‘bad’ foods. There’s just food, and I need food to keep my body running. God designed people in this fashion. You going to argue with God? ‘Cause I’ve tried it, and it’s kind of similar to arguing with a lamp post (something else I’ve tried before, don’t ask).

I thought it was quite a novel concept, really, when it solidified in my head; I eat what I want, when I’m hungry. Turns out, I’m not the great innovator I thought I was.

The Rotund has a post up: The Intuitive Eating Primer. There’s also linkies there for folks who want to learn more.

1 Comment

Filed under light reading

One response to “Intuitive Eating

  1. Geneen Roth has a wonderful little book called When You Eat at the Refrigerator, Pull Up a Chair that makes a similar argument.