The B-52’s New Single “Funplex”

I heart this song. It’s campy and good fun, just like all of the B-52’s music.

The lyrics, though, remind me of the love-shack-child of a Psalm and a, well, Taco Tiki Hut.

I’m a pleasure seeker, shopping for a new distraction.
I’m a pleasure seeker, looking for some platinum action.
I’m a pleasure seeker, moving to the Muzak.
I’m a pleasure seeker, looking for the real thing!

Chandelabras and a Wonderbra,
Chrisborn runway, a real draw!*
Faster, pussycat, thrill! Thrill!
I’m at the mall on a diet pill.

Oh, you broke my heart at the Funplex,
Yes, you did.
Oh, you broke my heart at the Funplex,
Yes, you did, yes, you did.

The Taco Tiki Hut is where we should meet
Underneath the shadowing* of ATM machines**.
Oh, honey! Is it all about money?

*I’m transcribing this, and I don’t know what exactly they said.
**GYAH! Pet peeve! Automatic Teller Machine Machines! It’s like saying HIV Virus! The V stands for Virus!

The song goes on, but I don’t want to get into copyright issues.

Comments Off on The B-52’s New Single “Funplex”

Filed under me being myself

Comments are closed.