Do You Want To Be Made Well?

You gotta read this sermon by Katie Day right now.

Seriously. Clicky. Go read.

*sigh* FINE! Here’s a teaser.

The man’s reply to Jesus is odd.
“I have no one to put me in the pool when the water is stirred up, and while I am making my way, someone else steps down ahead of me.”
He’s defensive, it seems.
Defensive of his attempts to heal himself.
Defensive of the pool’s power.
Defensive of his desire to be made well.

The man is so used to having to explain himself,
to making excuses for his existence and state of being in this world
that he misses the question.

The world is a structured place and Jerusalem was a structured town.
People knew their place and their role,
and as long as everyone stuck to the script everything would be fine.
As long as nothing happens to the order of things, no one gets hurt.
(Well, no more hurt than they already are in their oppression/repression/obsession.)
Sound familiar?

This man’s MO is to defend and explain away.
Jesus doesn’t give a rip.

Jesus wants to know,
“Do you want to be made well?”

It’s such a big question for such a little question.

See? Didn’t I tell you?!? Go! Read!.

3 Comments

Filed under light reading

3 responses to “Do You Want To Be Made Well?

  1. Holy moly, that was an incredible sermon. *smokes a cigarette of satisfaction*

    I’m going to have to start a file of great sermons I come across.

  2. This teaser grabbed me by the balls (not that I have any. Wait. Maybe I do.)

    On my way to my mammogram. I will read it when i return.

    Have I ever told you how much I love your writing?

    I love your writing.

  3. Yes, Yes, Yes.

    Oh, my. What a sermon. Thank you for pointing my nose in its direction. Really, really wonderful.

    Pax, C.