Remembering my Confirmation

I was confirmed in the United Methodist Church back in 7th grade. It was the culmination of a year’s study, out of which I mostly remember the information about other churches that we spent at least 8 weeks on. I also remember The Confirmation Trip, which is a whole ‘nother story but let’s just say we got kicked out of Grace Cathedral for sitting on the altar.

HEY! We were teenagers and Methodists! What did we know from altars?

But you want to know the one thing I remember the most from my Confirmation? Screwing up the Creed. Because we were all following J’s lead, and J started reading the part on our little cheater cards in the parentheses.

Do you believe in God the Father Almighty?
I believe in God the Father Almighty.

Do you believe in Jesus Christ?
I believe in Jesus Christ
(his only Son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died and was buried.
He descended into hell.
The third day He rose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven
and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty.
From thence He will come to judge the living and the dead.)

The pastor turned kind of pink and she said, “Um, yeah, you’re just supposed to say the first line. Let’s try that again.”

Do you believe in Jesus Christ?
I believe in Jesus Christ

I remember thinking to myself, Well, that’s kind of vauge there. Almost a letdown.

Do you believe in the Holy Spirit?
I believe in the Holy Spirit.

1 Comment

Filed under advent, baptism, my life

One response to “Remembering my Confirmation

  1. See, you were an Anglican even then.