No, seriously, what the fuck?!

Go to the US House of Representatives, click on Educational Resources, then click on The Bill of Rights.

Yep, right there it says

Amendment I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Now, what we need to do is run down to the US Congress Building’s gift shop, which I visited 12 months ago so I know they sell copies of the US Constitution and Bill of Rights there, and purchase copies for all 58 of the completely fucking retarded cosponsors of House Resolution 847: Recognizing the importance of Christmas and the Christian faith.

Thanks to Pisco for pointing out the Baloon-juice.com post and raising my blood pressure today.

3 Comments

Filed under *headdesk*

3 responses to “No, seriously, what the fuck?!

  1. Jen

    I think I’m more pissed that my congresscritter voted against this one, but not the ones about Ramadan or Diwali. He should’ve voted against those two, as well.

  2. Nina

    “Retarded”?
    I understand your anger, but do you really need to use a slur against people with developmental disabilities?

  3. I don’t think I can tell you how much it cheers me to see this on a blog whose writer focuses on faith; I was raised Athiest, and my parents instilled extra sensitivity on this score in me, and I am frequently mocked for bringing it up. Christmas– and the Christian faith– are both integral parts of American culture and history, but recognizing it certainly isn’t the job of the U.S. Government. (Seriously, they don’t have better things to do with their time?)