Oregon’s Largest Bible Selection

That’s the flashing neon announcement on the side of a warehouse on my new commute home.

One wonders, why do they need such a large selection? The words may change due to translator preference, but the meaning stays the same.

(For those keeping track, today is the 20th day in a row I’ve worked more than 6 hours, and in the last 7 days I have worked 61.5 hours. And a little bit of the extra money from last week is going towards the purchase of five of Fr. Andrew Greeley’s mystery novels, in which the plots change, but the meaning also stays the same.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Oregon’s Largest Bible Selection

  1. Oh, you want a fully annotated Bible, and maybe an interlinear Hebrew/Greek.English for study or sermon prep, one with no annotation for public reading, a nice leather-bound one for shmancy occasions, a paperback one to stuff in a backpack for a train trip, plus a big family-sized one with all the spots for genealogy and baptisms and whatnot. Then you have your NIV vs. KJV vs. NRSV, which is almost as impassioned as the RSV vs. NRSV. The New English folks sneak in there, along with the occasional Jerusalem Bible diehard.

    All KINDS of choices!

    Yes, but…. why? As far as I know, you don’t get bonus points in Heaven for owning the most Bibles. — Mary Sue

  2. Dude, we need to talk more. I had no idea you had this blog! (I’m a mostly-straight-but-queer-loving Episcopagan.) I saw you the other day entering the Big Blue Box lockers area as I was leaving, but by the time I realized I’d seen you and turned around, you was out of sight.

    And I didn’t eat all the jello today. There was none at lunchtime. But oh, the hummus.

  3. Nina

    Well, actually, given the translation, the meaning of a given passage can change quite a bit. And if you’ve ever seen a Scofield Reference Bible, a chain of references can give rise to any kind of odd theories which can then be touted as the Absolute Truth.

    We have eight or so different translations (and a couple of paraphrases) because we are geeks and love reading the same passage in different versions. What annoys me is the proliferation of Student Bibles and Godly Woman Pink Bibles and Manly Men Promises Bibles which are just the same translations with poor annotations and tacky bindings. This proves me to be a geek and a snob. Better shut up right now.

  4. Oh, I’m with Nina on the “Men’s Bible” and whatnot. Lots of propaganda disguised as annotation in those.

    No, a lot of Bibles won’t get you into heaven, but then the Bible’s not meant for heaven. It’s for here! I have all sort of Bibles for all the reasons above…I don’t want to haul a huge annotated copy into church with me (too much clutter to read it easily) but those notes sure connect some dots when I’m reading at home.