62.75 Hours

That’s how many hours I’ve worked at two seperate jobs in the past seven days.

Man, this gay lifestyle is rough.

I’m actually just now really catching up on the blogs from last Wednesdayish, and I see some knob with a pointy hat has declared me unfit to live.

My first thought? “That’s nice, punkin. Where’d I put my coffee?”

Then, oh boy, THEN I see the responses. Which generally run in the “OHMIGOH I CANNOT BELIEVE SOMEONE SAID THAT! My world is shaken and stirred by the mere notion people could be mean to each other!” vein.

Seriously, people, what the fuck? Have you paid attention during this ‘listening process’ that’s been mandated by the Lambeth and General Convention and such? Let me explain how this process works for GLBT people one more time, and I’ll use small words so you’ll be sure to understand:

Yea, for thy sake are we killed all the day long;
we are counted as sheep for the slaughter.

That’s Psalm 44:22 in case you didn’t know.

1 in 7 reported hate crimes in the US are against GLBT people. There’s 4 reported hate crimes against GLBT people in the US every. single. day. And these are just the reported ones; how many aren’t reported, either out of the victim’s fear or police bigotry?

I’m not out to very many people in my real life here in Portland. Because while it is a bastion of liberal acceptance and tolerance, there’s still people who think it’s their God-given duty to let GLBT people know they’re wrong, evil, and not human.

And I’m scared.

And I’m tired of constantly having to explain to people that this fear isn’t just me being paranoid, that this isn’t fostered by some knob with a pointy hat in Africa spouting off about the mouth, but by my next-door neighbors who sit on their porch smoking cigarettes and speckling their speech with the words ‘fag’ and ‘dyke’.

How can I love a neighbor like that?

Awake, why sleepest thou, O Lord?
Arise, cast us not off for ever.
Therefore hidest thou thy face,
[and] forgettest our affliction and our oppression?
For our soul is bowed down to the dust:
our belly cleaveth unto the earth.
Arise for our help,
and redeem us for thy mercies’ sake.

—Psalm 44:23-26

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “62.75 Hours

  1. I keep coming back and re-reading this—and I simply don’t know what to say. I know you speak the truth, and it bites.

    I don’t know why people seem to feel the need to hate. I don’t think I have that “gene,” though I confess I can certainly get a good hate-on for intolerant a******s. But to want to do harm? I don’t get it.

    I keep telling people…if I was REALLY picking and choosing the parts of the Bible to suit myself, I’d *definitely* get rid of that “love your neighbor” stuff.

  2. Suzer

    I had hoped the blue areas of the country had less of those neighbors than my extremely red (tobacco-spittin’, evolution-spurnin’, fag-hatin’) pocket of the world. Unfortunately, ignorance lives everywhere, all too often furthered by religion.

  3. It’s one of the toughest parts of being a christian but I try to remind myself that ‘love’ is not necessarily ‘like.’

    That said, it is increasingly harder to be charitable with these folks.