Personal Accountability, the Daily Office, and Gold Stars

For all that I’m beating the drum and shouting “Pray the Daily Office!” I have said the office a whole one time in the last seven days.

(Yeah, well, buddy, how many times have YOU said the Office?)

So on the drive home from work, I started to think about how I could get myself motivated, and I thought about how I’m not really able to do something if there’s no way for me to be accountable, i.e. no one else expects me to show up with a tangible product, or nothing to be checked off…

…waitaminute, am I a trained elementary teacher or what?

I have a Kalendar and a package of gold stars. I pray the Office, I get a star.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 Comments

Filed under prayer

3 responses to “Personal Accountability, the Daily Office, and Gold Stars

  1. I have a Kalendar and a package of gold stars. I pray the Office, I get a star.

    Oooooohhh….I *like* it!!!

    I’m going to try that myownself…

  2. I’ve been fairly good about Morning Prayer (or at least rattling off the devotion), but while I try to say EP on the walk home from work, I usually am just too brain dead to even think about it. Especially lately.

  3. I am always seeking for those metaphorical gold stars, but it never occurred to me to get actual gold stars. You crack me up!