See! See! We’re not the only ones!

Over at the Daily Episcopalian there was an article posted about why isn’t the Daily Office publically celebrated more?

 The comments are v. v. interesting. I have no time to play over there, I’m typing this on a break, time to go back to work.

(Also, I want to drop this in real quick as a point to ponder, I can’t remember if I told y’all this one before or not, but an Orthodox Christian friend and I who like to sit around and talk about religion, I was talking about toying with joining a 3rd order, and she said to me, “I can’t really understand third orders, because [the disciplines associated with a third order such as prayer, fasting, good works, and frequent confession] are the kind of thing every Orthodox person is supposed to do by default.”)

3 Comments

Filed under prayer

3 responses to “See! See! We’re not the only ones!

  1. I definitely can’t pretend to live up to the rule that’s expected of the average Orthodox, but I do kind of share that frustration when it comes to the Office. We all fail to live up to that discipline, but the general mindset seems to be that it’s an optional, personal practice. I wish there were more will to bring it into every parish in the Catholic world, whether there are religious or oblates involved in the parish or not.

    One of the things I’m learning as I hang out with more and more average Orthodoxen is that they don’t even live up to it. But they’re working on it, with the help of God and their spiritual father. Flitting about the blogosphere, especially lately, I have noticed more and more people going, “Gee, wouldn’t it be nice if we had MP/EP/LOTH in our churches more often?” The problem, though, is there are very few people who have bitten the bullet, said, “We’ve started it, and here’s how we started it and the problems we faced/overcame/adapted to.”

    But give me a few months. 😀
    —Mary Sue

  2. Dumb question, but what’s a third order? Or a first, second, or fourth, for that matter?

  3. Dumb question, but what’s a third order? Or a first, second, or fourth, for that matter?

    Oooh, me, me, I know the answer!

    It relates to the religious orders – Dominicans, Franciscans, Benedictines, etc. First order is the vowed monks or friars, second order is the cloistered nuns (note, this is different to the vowed Sisters who live in community – all nuns are Sisters, but not all Sisters are nuns), third order is the laity who vow to live by the rule of the Order. There are no fourth orders.

    Personally speaking, being a lay member of an Order (third order) hasn’t made me a better Christian than Fred down the street, or Jenny from Church, but it’s made me a better version of the me I would have been if I hadn’t joined. It would probably never have occurred to me that praying the Office is a Good Thing and a thing to be encouraged if I hadn’t thought, in a very muddy field one day “I need to find out more about these people.”

    Whilst all Catholics have to pray daily, and the Daily Office is encouraged, most Catholic churches in the UK don’t have public praying of the Office. The ones that do are, generally speaking, churches attached to convents, monasteries or priories. And there is no Helpful Guide for the Willing But Ignorant that says “you need to do this. Done that? Good. Now do this,” and so on all through all seven Hours. I’ve only picked it up by praying in community. And, of course, if you’re a Dominican praying with Benedictines, you’re going to get confused because different memorials get upgraded to Feasts, depending.