Mistakes

I read the most horrible thing today.

It was a comment, out there in the Internet, on the blog of a person who talks about their transition from living as a female to living as a male.

Someone had written, “You are an abomination. God does not make mistakes.”

Transgendered, transsexual, and intersex people get lumped into the alphabet soup (GLBTIQ), but they face the greatest discrimination and receive the fewest legal protections against it. And while there’s a lot of talk about including gay and lesbian people into the church, no one mentions the transgendered or transsexual or intersex people.

Why? I don’t know. But it scares me, because it makes them invisible, and more ready to slip through the cracks. The fact that transgender, transsexual, and intersex are often used interchangeably is one of the warning signs.

I’m not going to say I understand transgendered, or transsexual, or intersex people, because I can’t. I’ve never been in that place, in those situations, it can only be abstract and academic for me.

What I will do is call you by whatever name you ask me to, use the pronouns you want me to use in reference to you.

Because God doesn’t make mistakes. God has known every one of us (gay, straight, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, intersexed, or just plain queer) since before we were born. God is the one who knit our chromesomes together while we were still in our mother’s womb. God mixed up our hormonal balance, God designed our brains, God built us according to specs (copies of which can be reviewed at the Home Office, Street of Gold, New Jerusalem). God did not make a mistake when God created you.

People, though… well, us people are quite good at making mistakes. Especially the mistake of assuming our experience of the world is the right and good one, the common one, the way things ought to be.

I ask for forgiveness, from my siblings and from God, for discrimination, prejudice, fear and ignorance, by my own self and my culture.

Time to get to work.

4 Comments

Filed under meditations

4 responses to “Mistakes

  1. Preach it, Mary Sue! Amen!

  2. Pingback: Gay Christians « Lingamish

  3. johnieB

    I am happy to note that my parish, Christ Church Cathedral in Hartford, has had a ministry to Transgendered people for about fifty years, if I heard right, thanks to the recently deceased and greatly loved Canon Clinton R. Jones.

  4. Pingback: Gay Christians | lingamish