Wait, where are you going? Come back!

My favorite part of the Ascension story isn’t the ‘miracle’ of Jesus ascending into Heavenn.

Because, well, when you start talking about celestial bodies and the vacuum of space and the outpost Heaven’s set up on the Moon to serrve as a terminal for those coming and going… Too much theology. My head hurts.

No, my favorite bit is the scolding.

Acts 1:9-11 reports it. There the disciples are, just standing around, a little shocked, a little dropped-jaw action, and angels come down and say “What are you doing? Go on, git! There’s nothing to see here, folks, move along… Don’t y’all have some work to do? I’m pretty sure I heard him give you marching orders.”

1 Comment

Filed under meditations

One response to “Wait, where are you going? Come back!

  1. Today I heard a lovely medieval legend about the Ascension. Jesus is flying up into the heavens, and as he passes some angels they call to him, “Lord, what will happen now? What is your plan?” Jesus gestures at the disciples below, mouths agape and staring into the sky. “They are my plan,” he answers. The angels look down and are doubtful. “Surely you have some other plan,” they say. “No. No other plan. Just them.”