Gonna go engage in some subversive acts.

It’s 12:53am, and I can’t sleep.

I’ve had an itch all day. Thought I took care of it, though. Ah, well, when you have to, you just have to. I think it’s time once again that I do something a bit… subversive.

That’s right, punkins, I’m going to get out of bed, throw on a robe, and do some praying.

Whaddya mean, that’s not subversive?

Over there, on my music stand, there’s a Bible. I’m going to open it, and I’m going to read it. And I’m going to refresh my memory of what it says about God, what it records Jesus as saying, what the Holy Spirit did for people back then.

And then I’m going to be comparing that image of God to what people say God is.
I’m going to compare what Jesus said to what people say Jesus said.
I’m going to compare what the Holy Spirit did with what people say the Holy Spirit is doing now.

Knowledge like that, well, it’s dangerous. It gives me the power to stand up and tell someone that they’re wrong, that they’re lying.

And it’s the last thing that certain people who lust after power want.

Over there, on my music stand, is a list of names. It’s people who have asked for prayers. And I’m going to stand there, in my green bathrobe, my hair in sleeping braids, and lift them up to God.

Me, talking to God.
All by my sinful, lonely, insignificant self.
And no one can stop me.

But they try to stop me, oh, boy howdy, do they try! I’m an oxymoron, you see, because you can’t be queer and a Christian! It’s not how the Church has done things, not then, not now, not never ever!

I’m a sinner, unrepentant under their rules. And I’m going over their heads, taking my pleas directly to the Judgement Seat. Cutting through the red tape. Bypassing the hierarchy. Subverting their authority.

It’s kinda fun.
Wanna join me?

3 Comments

Filed under I'm Just A Girl, meditations, prayer

3 responses to “Gonna go engage in some subversive acts.

  1. Friend, I have nominated you for a Thinking Blogger Award. Here is my nominating post (http://ceciliainthecloset.blogspot.com/2007/04/tag-im-it.html) and here is the origin post of the award (http://www.thethinkingblog.com/2007/02/thinking-blogger-awards_11.html).

    Tag, you’re it.

    Pax, C.

  2. Rob

    You go, JustAGirl!

  3. David

    You are so right – it’s totally subversive. And wonderful. I’ll hold you in prayer as you hold me and the web of prayers around me connect to your web of prayers and like those goofy Farrah Fawcett shampoo ads from the 70s we will cover the world in prayer that is exciting and loving and vibrant and rainbowed and bright and scary and and and………..

    thanks for your great website and honesty. It bouys me up!

    david