Ch-ch-ch-changes!

Today is my last day at my temporary gig. It’s a little more than just grabbing my coffee cup and leaving; I’ve been here for 13 months.

They’ve decided to throw me a party. Which means I’ll be doing my best to blush and stammering a lot. I like attention, I’m not a hermit, but I don’t like being the center of attention!

I’m going to be ‘unemployed’ next week (by choice, need a break, going to go hang out in the woods for a while), but I have a feeling the agency I work for is already lining something up for me.

 It still kinda sucks, because I like most of the people I work with.

Ach, weel, since it’s St. Patrick’s Day, and I am known amongst my family members as “The Irish One” due solely to the fact that, amongst our motley collection of Scotch-Irish-Spanish-N.Am.Native-German-Italian genetics, I’m the only person in the entire family (60+ people!) that sunburns. Therefore, I give you the litany I wrote for last St. Paddy’s Day. And now:

The Top Ten Irish-y Songs On My IPod

(Which are pretty much all Gaelic Storm and Great Big Sea songs, what can I say?)

  1. Vertigo – U2
  2. Punjab Paddy – Gaelic Storm
  3. March of Cambreadth – Heather Alexander [Click here, then scroll down to find a link to the MP3.]
  4. I’m a Rover – Great Big Sea
  5. An Cailin Deas Rua – Gaelic Storm
  6. The Night Pat Murphy Died – Great Big Sea
  7. I Miss My Home – Gaelic Storm
  8. Run Runaway – Great Big Sea
  9. Something To It – Great Big Sea
  10. Whiskey in the Jar – Unknown Singers in a Bar That I Just Happened To Have My Laptop and Mike Running So You Mostly Hear My Slurred Attempts and Laughing.
5 Comments

Filed under meme, my life

5 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes!

  1. I strongly recomment Metallica’s Whiskey in the Jar. And go out and rent the movie The Nephew sometime over the next week or so — there’s a very funny rap version of it there.

  2. Rob

    Hi, I’m new here, so far be it from me to disrespect the opinions of your more long-standing friends, but please avoid Metallica’s Whiskey in the Jar. If you want an edgier Irish sound than the great traditional artists (Kevin Crawford, Kevin Burke, Paddy Glackin, Liz Doherty and a host of really talented people), you really must look into the Pogues. Shane McGowan, despite his penchant for self-destruction via frequent dives to the bottoms of various bottles, and despite his less-than-“standard” voice, is a true genius and an artist of the highest caliber. Off the top of my head, I think the Pogues did a collaboration with the Dubliners (slightly traditional, more like a really great pub band) on Whiskey. The Pogues are kind of like a punk version of a ceili band. And if you’re into ceili bands, look at Kilfenora Ceili Band, one of the best. In my unsolicited opinion. But for the sake of all that is good and right, not Metallica. Metallica is outstanding at ballsy metal, but they should stick with that at which they excel.

    Sla/inte!

    Rob

  3. Whiskey in the Jar makes me think of Roger Whittaker. My parents used to like him – and he has a popular song (well, kind of), called The Wreck of the Edmond Fitzgerald.

    Happy St. Patty’s Mary Sue!

  4. Rob

    Happy Paddy’s! Now I’m really feeling old: It’s very possible that Roger Whitaker covered The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. It was a highly popular song when I was younger. (Incidentally, some friends of mine recently quipped that it’s one of the few songs in the popular songbook that could/should never be used in the routine of a stripper. I must agree.)

    What was my point? Oh, yeah. The W.of the E.F. was written and most popularly performed by Gordon Lightfoot – a fabulous folk singer, who just made his most recent CD about 2 years ago. He looks like boiled liver these days, but is a talented guy. Now I’m imagining a collaboration between Shane MacGowan and Gordon Lightfoot… The alcoholics tour, maybe.

    This has little to do with anything, but the Lightfoot/MacGowan pair-up might not be that much of a stretch. Lightfoot sang probably the second-most well-known cover of a song called “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face.” (The best known was done by Roberta Flack, I think, and it sucked. My opinion, of course, but still. Suck.) The song was written, however, by Ewan MacColl, father of the late Kirsty MacColl, who sang the duet “Fairytale of New York” with MacGowan and the Pogues. Is that one or two degrees of separation?

    Oh, and my mom likes Roger Whitaker. He was playing all over Germany when I used to live there 10 years ago. Don’t know if he’s still with us.

    Did I mention that I like your blog, Mary Sue? I do. Sorry about hijacking it.

  5. Hey Rob – You are of course, right!

    My parents did listen to both Roger Whittaker AND Gordon Lightfoot.

    Not that I can think of a single Roger Whittaker tune at this point, but, they listened to him!

    I guess it’s a sign of my advancing age – I’m getting C.R.S.