Just Checking In To See What Condition My Condition Is In

I ran across this video of Craig Ferguson’s monolouge about why he won’t be taking potshots at Britney Spears somewhere on the Wide Wild Webs, and it struck a real chord with me. Not just because, well, he’s right there at the end where he says “everyone knows an alcoholic” (and the one I know is a lot closer than I’d like to admit), but because it’s a powerful statement of— well, why the HELL are we making fun of and sniping at people when they fall down? That’s when they need the support the most. And it doesn’t just go for pop stars, but also for regular joe individuals, and (oh my God, is she going there?) our churches at every level from parish to Primates (yep! She went there).

Anyway, I realise it is over 12 minutes long, but I think you’ll be glad you took the time to see it through.

O blessed Lord, you ministered to all who came to you: Look
with compassion upon all who through addiction have lost
their health and freedom. Restore to them the assurance of
your unfailing mercy; remove from them the fears that beset
them; strengthen them in the work of their recovery; and to
those who care for them, give patient understanding and
persevering love. Amen.

–1979 Book of Common Prayer

Comments Off on Just Checking In To See What Condition My Condition Is In

Filed under light reading

Comments are closed.