Proud Member of the Dirty Forehead Club

iconashes.jpg

I have an Ash Wednesday tradition of making graphics for the Dirty Forehead Club.

“What the hell is that?” You’re asking. Well, let me tell you.

Many, many moons ago, when the earth was young and I wore dresses, I worked for an accountant. She was going through whatever it is really lapsed Roman Catholics do to get back in with the Church. Well, one day I came into the office and she kept holding her forehead. Worried that she had a migrane or something, I asked what was wrong.

She sighed, lifted her hand, and showed me her forehead. “You see, today’s Ash Wednesday, and it’s the beginning of forty days–”

I raised a hand. “I understand completely; I’m joining the Dirty Forehead Club at 7pm tonight.”

baby-ash-3.jpg

ETA: I’ll post a recipe later, but I’ve been fiddling with the layout of my page. Whaddya think?

EATA: All graphics on this post are totally takeable. And, you know, if you have better manip skillz than I do, you can make your own, too… I’m looking at you, Rev. Madpriest!

3 Comments

Filed under Lent

3 responses to “Proud Member of the Dirty Forehead Club

  1. I like the layout!

    I like the icon, too! Is it available for stealing borrowing? (with a link back to you, of course — and assuming I actually get out there today and get ashed?)

  2. ‘Tings lookin’ cool roun’ heah!
    Many years ago, when I worked as a Purchasing Agent for a Silicon Valley Company, I came to work after attending Ash Wednesday service. One of the people in my office said, “Hey man, you have some toner on your forehead!”
    Dang Heathen-Pagan!

  3. Mary Sue – I’ve come upon this late, but I like your icon, and I’m “stealing” it – Thanks!