Fasting Recipe of the Week: Thirty Minute Vegan Chili

Blog Stat Watch: Someone got here looking for “prophetic words all church sorority doctor”. And now I’m curious as to whether or not they found them prophetic words here…

So, I’ve heard some people around the blogosphere discuss how they’re going to add the traditional Friday fasts of the Church to their spiritual lives as part of good stewardship of the land and stuff. And I wanted to write a nice, long, happy article about how I’ve done this myself off and on over the years, and I’d like to be more on than off, and how there’s a difference between vegetarianisim and being conscious about where your meat comes from, there’s a difference between fasting and dieting.

 And then I remembered I suck at long treatises on spiritual thought.

What am I good at? Cooking.

Matter of fact, my other blog is all about food. I’m one of those wierd people who takes a camera to the restaurant to get shots of food. And I’ve got a LOT of experience in cooking without meat, thanks to the time I spent living with vegans.

Therefore, on Wednesdays, I’m going to try and post a quick or easy, vegetarian or vegan recipe. Why Wednesdays? Because this way, if’n you’re reminded on Wednesday, you’re more likely to go to the grocery and pick up stuff and be ready for Friday, instead of resorting to PB&J five weeks in a row. Voice of experience, here, people.

Today? Thirty Minute Vegan Chili is under the cut.

Thirty Minute Vegan Chili

Serves 4, or two very hungry people

2T vegetable oil 

2 cloves garlic, smashed.

1 medium yellow or white onion, diced. 

2 cans total of beans. Suggestions: kidney, chickpea, black beans, pintos– pick two of your favorites.

1 can stewed tomatoes (Italian-style is ok).

3/4 c water

Chili Powder (see below)

Put a big pot on medium high heat on the stove. The way I figure out if a pot is going to be big enough is I put the unopened cans in it. If they all fit with some wiggle room, and they don’t stick out more than an inch over the top of the pot, it’s big enough. I’d rather wash a too-big pot that I only half-filled, rather than have it boil over and stick all to the stove.

Add the vegetable oil and then the smushed garlic and diced onion. Cook until it becomes translucent, if it starts to get brown, turn the heat down (this, in technical cooking terms, is called ‘sweating’). Rinse the beans and add them to the pot, then add the stewed tomatoes (no rinsing needed) and the 3/4 c of water and about a tablespoon of Chili Powder. Bring to a simmer, then cover, turn all the way down to low, and set the timer for thirty minutes. You’re not actually cooking anything, you’re just trying to get all the flavors comfortable with each other. When the timer goes off, taste and adjust seasonings accordingly. When adjusting seasonings, especially when using mixed seasonings, add them in 1/4 teaspoon at a time, then taste again. You can always add more, but you can’t take it out if you add too much.

Chili Powder 

You can either buy chili powder, or make your own to taste. I mix up my own, which is 1 part garlic powder, 1 part tumeric, 1 part cumin, 1 part mustard powder, 1 part cayenne, 1/2 part cinnamon, 1/2 part 75% dark chocolate (grated fine), 2 parts cracked black pepper. I keep this in a jar in the kitchen and it goes in EVERYTHING. But I like spicy food.

2 Comments

Filed under fasting, recipe, vegan

2 responses to “Fasting Recipe of the Week: Thirty Minute Vegan Chili

  1. I’d definitely be interested in the long treatise, should you get around to it!

  2. Mary Sue – Bravo! I’ll be making this tomorrow.

    No meat Friday, all ingredients on hand. And I have the day off.

    Lunch and dinner baby.

    Pisco..Go to the store to get your ingredients for this.