Shiny, Mint Condition, Still In Its Original Packaging, New Year

My resolution in this new year is the same as it was last year:

1024×768.

NYE was filled with trying to cram in a bunch of traditions handed down from my mother, and trying to explain the traditions to housemates and guests.

“Why are you eating black eyed peas when you obviously hate them?”
“Because if I don’t, I’ll be broke and unhappy.”
“…Why?”
“I dunno, do you want some or not?”

Usually I spend at least part of NYE at a Watch Night service. But this year, I didn’t want to leave the house in the cold, damp, and crazy!driver weather we had, so instead, we flipped one of the couches upside down and stood on it and had chicken fights. Then someone found a Sharpie marker and we all got ‘tattoos’.

You can try and find a deep, philosophical meaning and an insight into Spiritual Truth in that story, or you can just take my advice and, you know, don’t ever flip your couch over and have chicken fights on it, because we all have spectacular bruises to go with fading “Chris was Here” ‘tattoos’.

May your new year be exciting, fun, and more injury-free than mine.

Comments Off on Shiny, Mint Condition, Still In Its Original Packaging, New Year

Filed under my life

Comments are closed.