Ow.

I fall down a lot.

No, this isn’t a metaphor for my spiritual life. I’ll be walking along a newly cured, laser-leveled piece of concrete and wham! I’ll be on the ground. Yes, that actually happened to me my first go-round in college.

Fr. Father says it started back when I was in utero. He’d be walking with Mtr. Mother and talking to her, then suddenly realise she wasn’t there anymore. He’d turn around and she’d be on the ground, laughing.

I laugh when I fall down, too. What else am I supposed to do? I look absolutely silly when I fall down. Often I flail wildly, in the vain hope that I can catch my balance, whatever I’m carrying goes flying in all directions, and then I curl up and try to take the shock as best I can. Except, even after several years of aikido, I still have a tendency to throw my hands out. The orders when I was a child were always, “Save your face!”

Which, of course, means that when I fell yesterday, I twisted my hips so I’d fall on my bottom, but didn’t torque my upper body enough, so I slammmed down on one hand. And totally wrenched my back. It’s not debilitating, but it’s letting me know exactly how interconnected my musculature is; every time I move, my back sends a little reminder of my fall to my brain.

I could very easily turn this into a metaphor for sin. If you wanna, go right ahead, I’m going to go and try and find some ibuprofin or something. Ow.

Comments Off on Ow.

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.